» » Abstract Orchestra – Dilla (LP)
Sold Out

Abstract Orchestra – Dilla (LP)


Abstract Orchestra – Dilla vinyl LP Hip Hop Jazz album taking urban music to high level ! Hip Hop band from Leeds – England led by Haggis Horn saxophonist Rob Mitchell.
Dilla by Abstract Orchestra is a tribute to the work of the highly acclaimed and influential producer. OpenerWelcome to Detroit/The Diarytakes the the vocal sample from Isaac Hayes’s Man’s Temptation and places it against lush brass and driving beats whileWorkinonitTransplants the original 10cc guitar samples from the Dilla original onto biting trumpets and aggressive saxes, underpinned as always by Joost Hendrickx’s on point drumming. OnStopvocalist Anna Uhuru handles the Dionne Warwick vocal with assurance while the band lay down an arrangement that is reminiscent of the work of David Axelrod and Don Sebeskey, both big sources of inspiration for Abstract Orchestra.


Out of stock

SKU: ATA006 Categories: , Tags: , , , ,


A1Welcome To Detroit / The Diary
A4Dilla Mix 1
A5Dilla Mix 2
A6Raw Shit
B1Official / Fall In Love
B3So Far To Go
B6Two Can Win
Led by Saxophonist Rob Mitchell, Abstract Orchestra seeks to reflect the diversity of music sampled by Hip-Hop producers by presenting music that has the complexity of jazz, framed within the simpler structures of Hip-Hop. Complex harmonies are framed within simple loops and complex bar structures and time signatures can pass by unnoticed. I selected the tracks on the album with very much the live performance in mind says band-leader and arranger Rob Mitchell So the album is a reflection of the tour and the music we performed. Inspired by the legendary live performances of The Roots with Jay-Z and the 40 piece orchestral arrangements by Miguel-Atwood Ferguson of the work of J Dilla, classic arranging techniques underpin modern loop-based structures.
Hip Hop big band members:
Conductor: Rob Mitchell
Sax’s : Rob Mitchell / Jim Corry / James Russell / Dan Brunskill / Simon Kaylor
Trumpets : Malcolm Strachan / Jack Davis / Simon Beddoe
Trombones : Kev Holbrough / Danny Barley / Patrick Martin / Chris Hibard
Bass : Chris ‘Fatty’ Hargreaves
Keys : George Cooper
Drums : Joost Hendrickx
Vox: Anna Uluru / Akin Amusan
Gilles Peterson’s BBC6 Music / Worldwide Fm review “This is sick!!! A Winner”.


Other Details


New, Record Sleeve Near Mint




ATA Records